Německo-polsko-česká konference o vědě s účastí CIIRC CTU


zpráva je k dispozici pouze v anglickém originále

Government representatives from Germany, Poland and the Czech Republic to provide fresh impetus for regional development

Germany, Poland and the Czech Republic want to intensify the pooling of forces in research and innovation in order to strengthen Central European innovation regions and provide new impetus for regional development across all of Europe. At the invitation of Federal Research Minister Anja Karliczek in cooperation with the Minister-President of Saxony Michael Kretschmer, the conference at the Gläserne Manufaktur in Dresden on 8 and 9 October will bring together the President of the German Bundestag, Wolfgang Schäuble, the Prime Minister of Poland, Mateusz Morawiecki, and a high-ranking representative from the Czech Republic as well as further representatives from politics, science and research in the border triangle. Participants will discuss opportunities and challenges of research and innovation for the sustainable economic development of Central Europe.

Central European cooperation as a driver of forward-looking innovation

The central objective of the conference is to prepare for tackling the joint challenges facing Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland in the border triangle and coal mining regions in particular. Successful, economically and socially sustainable structural change requires smart links between science and industry. This can only be achieved through networking and cross-border cooperation in research and innovation. In this context, Central European partnerships can serve as a stepping stone for encouraging innovation and advancing regional development. The high profile of innovative Central European partnerships should be used to share examples of how regions in transformation can develop into knowledge regions also at European level.

Find Full agenda and speakers

The event will be streamed live on this website on Friday, 8 October, starting at 14:00 and on Saturday, 9 October, starting at 09:00. In addition, the political welcoming addresses and round table discussion that are taking place on Friday, 8 October, between 17:00 and 18:30 will be broadcast live on our Twitter account @BMBF_Bund.

Program Digest

8. 10. 2021

16:00 – 16:45 Plenary session: Regional innovation initiatives for Central Europe
Keynote speeches with subsequent discussion

„Research and innovation perspective with a view to the regional specifics in the border triangle“

Welf-Guntram Drossel, Executive Director, Fraunhofer Institute for Machine Tools and Forming Technology IWU

„Best practice in cross border cooperation“

Stefan Dziembowski, Head of Cryptography and Blockchain Lab, Copernicus Award 2020, University of Warsaw

„Building an AI ecosystem together“

Vladimír Mařík, Scientific Director, Czech Institute of Informatics, Robotics and CyberneticsCzech (CIIRC)


9. 10. 2021

10:30 – 11:20 The digital transformation in industrial production – Artificial Intelligence as a key enabler for future industry 4.0 applications

Moderator: Herbert Zeisel, Deputy Director-General, German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

  Industrial AI from the perspective of science

RICAIP – European Centre of Excellence for Advanced Industrial Production

Wolfgang Wahlster, Chief Executive Adviser, German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI)

Vladimír Mařík, Scientific Director, Czech Institute of Informatics, Robotics and Cybernetics (CIIRC)
Industrial AI from the perspective of industry

Uwe Wieland, Head of Software Development Center Dresden, Volkswagen AG

Petr Švarc, Head of AI Team, Škoda
Signing ceremony

Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to intensify cooperation between German and Czech research partners in the field of Industrial Artificial Intelligence (working title)

Czech Institute of Informatics, Robotics and Cybernetics (CIIRC): Vladimír Mařík (Scientific Director)

German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI): Antonio Krüger, (Chief Executive Officer)

Supporter: Wolf-Dieter Lukas (BMBF), Wolfgang Wahlster (DFKI)